Kitchen bench with cooking ingredientsMy latest dumpling adventures should perhaps be relabelled as ‘misadventures’. Last Sunday, I planned to recreate the wonder of the Spanish croquette for my travel buddy, so we could nosh on them while sharing photos from the trip.

Cheese and bacon croquettes

Makes about 20

Ingredients

  • 4 rashers bacon, fat trimmed, finely chopped
  • 2 cups cold mashed potato (Not sure how? Try this)
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 scallions, finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 1 cm cubes of mozzarella cheese
  • 1.5 cups breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • Grapeseed oil

Method

  1. Heat a frying pan on medium heat.
  2. Add bacon and cook until crisp.
  3. Drain the bacon on a plate lined with paper towel.
  4. Combine mashed potato, egg yolk, scallions, bacon and 1/4 cup flour in a large bowl.
  5. Take a cheese cube and roll a tablespoon of mixture around it.
  6. Place the remaining flour on a plate.
  7. Place breadcrumbs on a second plate.
  8. Whisk the egg and milk together in a small bowl.
  9. Roll the croquettes in flour, dip them in egg mixture, then coat them in breadcrumbs.
  10. Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat.
  11. Cook the croquettes in batches, turning them every few minutes until golden.
  12. Drain the croquettes on paper towel before serving.

Unfortunately, as I fried up the last batch I was overcome with a wave of nausea. I didn’t even get a photo of the finished product! I barely had the chance to say hello to my guest. I spent the next day or so hanging around a toilet bowl. I won’t go into too much detail in a food blog – it’s just not hygienic. I hope I’m not put off croquettes for life.

Review

Apparently, despite my reaction, it didn’t put anyone else off.

Jas: What did you think, guys?

Dan: … Tasty.

Stace: Soft with a mildly crunchy outer coating. Who could go wrong with a mix of mashed potato, cheese, bacon and breadcrumbs? Dan, were they any good cold?

Dan: … Yup.

…I reckon they were a total croq.

Leave a Reply

