So feedback suggests that the dumplings I’ve been making are a little carb heavy for those of you who happen to be counting. Well, I’ve found a recipe for Russian ‘ural pelmeni’ dumplings that I want to try out. They include not one, not two, but three different types of meat. Cow, sheep AND pig! Bursting with protein.

The cover of the book, Eating

The problem, however is that I’ve been reading Eating: What we eat and why it matters by Peter Singer and Jim Mason (book pictured right). I’ve been really enjoying it – it’s been incredibly hard to put down. I’ve now discovered that I had a rather idealistic view of what life is like down on the farm. So, I’ll be sourcing some humane meat and getting back to the cooking soon as a more ethical consumer … fingers crossed. (I’m not through the book yet!)

I think RSPCA’s Shop Humane website has helped me get off to a good start.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

